An update… injury free for two months and counting.

So my half-marathon in November went contrary to what I planned… went out too hard (at 1:23 pace for the first five miles), bonked at 9.5 miles, to the point where I was on the verge of fainting every time I ran more than half a mile, and finished in 1:31. Given my disappointing result, I decided I needed a new approach.

The last two months have involved a change in philosophy, with a focus on all three sports of triathlon. School has been brutal too, so a little direction has become necessary. That said, I’ve enlisted the services of a coach, with an intensity-filled focus. So far, I’ve been averaging about 8-9 hours of training a week, with about 10,000 yards of swimming, 25-30 miles of running, and 70 miles of biking. What comes with this decrease in volume is a chance to push myself… 3-4 key workouts each week are where my focus really lies, with some low intensity volume to fill out the schedule.

It really is a lot of fun to push through 30 second, 1 minute and 2 minute intervals in each sport… pushing to the limit time after time is what I first fell in love with in athletics in swimming, and later in rowing. The results are inconclusive across all three sports, but recent time trials saw me drop my 100 time to a :59 from a flat start, and my 500 to near sub-6:00 (despite swimming it ~5/6 minutes after the 100). I’m intrigued to see how training goes in the next couple of months, and a couple of running races and a newly purchased power meter will help me figure this out.

Upcoming:

2/12: Love’em or Leave’em Valentine’s Day Dash 5k, Green Lake, Seattle, WA

3/13: St. Patrick’s Day Dash, Seattle, WA

3/20: Rain Man Indoor Triathlon, Seattle, WA

~ by cdviking on February 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
